2006-7 Annual Report of the Budgetary Affairs Committee Bv **Donald D. Myers, Chair** September 19, 2007

The Board of Curators' Collected rules and Regulations, Section 140.020 Financial Planning, Part B, addresses the matter of campus-based planning and budgeting processes. It provides:

Faculty members must be meaningfully involved through regular on-going mechanisms with the total University fiscal situation. Appropriate committees with faculty members at the system and campus levels shall be created or designated to advise in educational planning, to appraise resource needs and fiscal conditions, and to advise on allocation and reallocation of resources.

The UMR Bylaws provide for the Budgetary Affairs Committee:

(1) This committee makes recommendations to the Academic Council, the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor of Administrative Services on matters concerning: the long-range vision of the campus; plans to fulfill this vision; and budgetary matters as a consequence of the vision. This includes, but is not limited to: all matters of a budgetary nature; and policies and priorities for strategic action plans. It studies the Campus budget, keeps informed of its preparation and status, and consults with and advises the Chancellor on all matters pertaining to budgetary affairs.

(2) The committee consists of two faculty members elected from and by the Academic Council, two elected from and by each school and college, two from and the Graduate faculty, one student chosen from the Student Council, and one administrative member appointed by the Chancellor. Elected members serve for two-year term, and one half elected each year.

School of Engineering

School of Engineering

School of Management & Information Systems

School of Management & Information Systems

The committee consisted of:

•	Lance Haynes	Academic Council
---	--------------	------------------

- Mark Fitch Academic Council
- Barbara Hale College of Arts & Science
- Melanie Mormile College of Arts & Science
- Joseph Bradley
- Lance Gentry

•

- Lokesh Dharani
- Don Myers
- Richard Brow
- School of Materials, Energy & Earth Resources • William Fahrenholtz School of Materials, Energy & Earth Resources
- Al Crosbie Graduate Faculty
- Matt Insall Graduate Faculty
- **Council of Graduate Students** • Prasenjit Shil

٠	Lauren Huchingson	Student Council
•	Steve Malott	Administration

The committee held an organization meeting on September 26, 2006, and elected Don Myers as chair. Executive committee members Richard Brow, Barbara Hale, and Lance Gentry were elected representatives from their respective school/college. Vice-Chancellor Steve Malott, a member of the full committee, also served on the Executive committee. The Executive committee met generally on a weekly basis when classes were in session to monitoring budgetary matters that may require the attention of the full committee and Academic Council. The full committee also met on November 15, February 22, and April 19.

The Chair of the full committee also serves as a member of Rules, Procedures and Agenda committee.

In addition to the monitoring activity, the committee requested at the April 12, 2007, Academic Council meeting that in view of the organizational structure changes, that mechanisms be developed for communication of SRI distribution and endowment fee change policies to the faculty and other appropriate public. It was reported at the June 7, 2007, Academic Council meeting that the "Faculty/Staff headcounts are posted on the web at:

http://campus.umr.edu/acadcoun/archive/reports/Faculty.Staff.HeadCount.95.to.06.xls.

The committee also reviews proposed name changes (NC) and degree changes (DC) for possible budgetary impact with recommendations made to the Academic Council for approval or disapproval. All such proposed changes during the year were reviewed accordingly.

Respectfully submitted,

Donald D. Myers