University of Missouri-Rolla Academic Council Rules, Procedures and Agenda Committee Meeting

Engineering Management, Room 226 March 21, 2006 1300 – 1430

Present: Frank Blum (Sec.), Leroy Cox (GS Rep.), Robert DuBois (Personnel), Lance Haynes (Academic Freedom & Standards), Barbara Hale (ITCC), Lois Jaquess (Admin. Sec.), Kurt Kosbar (Pres.-Elect), Bruce McMillin (Tenure), Nathan Mundis (SC Rep.), Don Myers (Chair), Keith Nisbett (Curricula), Eun Soo Park (Parliamentarian), Robert Schwartz (President), Jeff Smith (Library & Learning Resources).

Schwartz plans to have the minutes of the February 14, 2006 meeting ready at the next meeting.

The results of the faculty poll on Administrative Restructuring were discussed and Schwartz will send these to the Chancellor.

There was discussion of the implications of a possible change in academic structure, and the need to change the Bylaws, ensure that tenure issues are handled appropriately, and not force departments to merge.

There was no action taken relative to Strategic Planning at the meeting.

- There was discussion about the procedures on Administrative Review. The Academic Council (AC) and the Rules, Procedures and Agenda Committee (RP&A) have defined these procedures. There do not appear to be a "best practices" outline at the system level, although the other campuses seem to be reviewing people at more or less the same administrative levels. Some RP&A members felt it would be appropriate to look at the process and questions for major administrators next year. One issue that seemed to raise concern was the question about whether the administrators should be retained.
- There was discussion of the re-review of next-level administrators. It was voted to delay the rereview of next-level administrators who received negative results in the faculty surveys in order to allow the Chancellor to conduct a 360-degree formative review of such administrators.

The meeting was adjourned at 1443.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Blum Secretary, Academic Council