Volume VII, Number 8 Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting June 12, 2014 – Special Meeting

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 1:30 by President Mark Fitch and roll was taken.

Those whose names are grayed out below were absent.

S.N. Balakrishnan, Martin Bohner, Michael Davis, (Max Tohline for) Joel Dittmer, Cassie Elrod, Bill Fahrenholtz, Mark Fitch, Daniel Forciniti, Ron Frank, Matt Goldberg, (Ruwen Qin for) Abhijit Gosavi, (Sahra Sedighsarvestani for) Steve Grant, Katie Grantham, Barbara Hale, (Jerry Cohen for) Lance Haynes, Amber Henslee, Wayne Huebner, Ali Hurson, Ulrich Jentschura, Kurt Kosbar, (Ying Chou Lin for) Bih-Ru Lea, Ronaldo Luna, Gearoid MacSithigh, Michael Meagher, Mark Mullin, Daniel Oerther, Anthony Okafor, Robert Paige, Ted Read, Tom Schuman, Benjamin Seabough, Pericles Stavropoulos, Daniel Tauritz, Shoaib Usman, Paul Worsey, (Levent Acar for) Chengshan Xiao, Wan Yang

II. Bylaw Amendment

Twenty-five members of the Faculty Senate are required to have a quorum to do business. The count did not meet the minimum number of representatives needed for a quorum.

Dr. Fitch stated that the Body could still abide by the Collected Rules and Regulations, but not as the Faculty Senate.

He made note of applicable CRR 300.030.G:

Amending the Bylaws – Amendments may be proposed by twenty (20) faculty members of the General Faculty by submitting them to the Rules, Procedures, and Agenda Committee.

The Faculty Senate does not have any official role in that process. Without a quorum this will just be a meeting of some faculty. The present Body may act as those twenty faculty members to propose changes to the Bylaws.

After some discussion, a motion was made for adjournment. Dr. Fitch pronounced this a quorum call and adjourned the meeting.

III. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 1:37 PM.