FACULTY BYLAWS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI-ROLLA

On the selection of Department Chairs:

300.030.D.1.a.(3) When the position of department chair is vacated, a search and screen committee consisting of only individuals elected by the department tenured/tenure track faculty will search for and screen applicants (in accordance with UMR EEO/AA procedures), will select candidates to be interviewed, and will interview them with the assistance of other faculty, administrators, staff, and students. Up to five candidates will then be selected by a majority vote of the department tenured/tenure track faculty, and the names of the selected candidates will be forwarded to the dean. The dean then shall select one of the nominated candidates to be the new department chair, or return the search to the committee with an explanation of why the candidates are unacceptable or unavailable. The committee will operate until a new department chair is selected.

On the selection of Deans:

300.030.D.2.a.(2) The chief executive and administrative officer of each school or college is the Dean. When the position is vacated the Dean shall be nominated by the Chancellor after formal consultation with a committee elected from and by the school or college faculty. The Dean is responsible to the Chancellor for the administration of educational and research policy. The Dean is responsible for the internal structuring of the school or college faculty, including an agenda committee and other appropriate committees.

On the selection of other Academic or Administrative Administrators:

The faculty bylaws do not specify procedures for the selection of other administrators.